#Africa #News #Renewable Energy

Nine African nations on track to join solar ‘gigawatt club’

Nine African nations on track to join solar ‘gigawatt club’

Of the 37 countries that are part of the #solar ‘gigawatt club’, only two — South Africa and Egypt — are from Africa. But this might change soon with nine more African countries ramping up solar capacity, said the first annual African Solar Energy Outlook 2021 report released by the Africa Solar Industry Association (AFSIA) on February 16, 2021.

Nations with installed capacity to produce 1 GW of solar power form the ‘gigawatt club’, an unofficial tag.

The nine countries that are developing their solar infrastructure are Algeria, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Namibia, Ethiopia, Morocco and Botswana, the report said.

Nearly half the world’s population without access to electricity (591 million) is in sub-SaharanAfrica, according to the International Energy Association. This new report provides policy directions for ensuring development of affordable energy through solar.

It provides a country-by-country snapshot solar generation status and key drivers of successful solar development across 54 nations in the African continent.

Source: Furtherafrica

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *