#Africa #Africa - In Other News #News

Oman suspends arrivals from eight African countries

  • The suspension will take effect from Thursday.

Oman has suspended arrivals from 10 countries for 15 days to limit the spread of Covid-19.

Out of the 10, eight are Africa countries. They include Sudan, South Africa, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Ethiopia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.

he others are Brazil and Lebanon.

The suspension will take effect from Thursday.

The decision also affects arrivals from elsewhere if they have passed through any of the suspended countries in the 14 days prior to applying to enter the sultanate

Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families are exempted from the suspension, according to the body in charge of dealing with Covid-19 in the sultanate.

Oman’s ministry of health earlier this month said travellers, especially those from East African countries, had accounted for 18% of new infections.

Starting Monday February 15, Oman introduced mandatory institutional quarantine for all arrivals into the country via its land, air and sea borders, the cost of which is borne by the passengers.

It has sealed its international land borders which will remain closed until further notice, except for the passage of trucks.

Source: BBC / Gulf News

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *